

# Board of Directors Meeting February 7, 2024

#### **Minutes**

# I. MEETING CONVENED

The Oklahoma Municipal League Board of Directors met on **Wednesday**, **February 7**, **2024**, **at the OML Office located at 201 NE 23<sup>rd</sup> Street**, **Oklahoma City**, **OK**, **73105**. President Pam Polk called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

#### Officers and Directors present were:

President, Pam Polk, City Manager, Collinsville Vice President, Scotty White, Mayor, Poteau Past President, Kim Peterson, Mayor, Guymon

#### Directors:

District 1, Michael Hart, City Administrator, Commerce

District 2, Dwayne Elam, City Manager, Wagoner

District 3, Leah Savage, City Manager, Hugo

District 5. William Jovce. Mayor. Stillwater

District 6, Joyce Calvert, Mayor, Glenpool

District 8, Nikki Lloyd, Mayor, Bethany

District 9, Stan Booker, Mayor, Lawton

District 10, Mike Brown, Mayor, Weatherford

District 11, Kelly Parker, Mayor, Alva

Towns East, Karl Burkhardt, Town Administrator, Stonewall

Towns West, Craig Parham, Mayor, Amber

Broken Arrow, Debra Wimpee, Mayor, Broken Arrow

Oklahoma City, Craig Freeman, City Manager, Oklahoma City

Tulsa Jed Cochran, Government Relations Representative, Tulsa, Alternate

Edmond, Barry K. Moore, Councilmember

# Officers and Directors absent:

District 7, Homer Nicholson, Mayor, Ponca City

Tulsa, G.T. Bynum, Mayor, Tulsa

Edmond, Darrell Davis, Mayor, Edmond Alternate

Norman, Larry Heikkila, Mayor, Norman

Norman, Lauren Schueler, Council Member, Norman Alternate

# **OML Staff Present:**

Executive Director, Mike Fina

Deputy Director, Nancee Morris

Outreach Specialist, April Bradbury Associate General Counsel, Christian Rinehart Director of Communications & Legislative Affairs, Leslie Blair

#### Guests present were:

Broken Arrow, Michael Spurgeon, City Manager Hall Estill, Elaine Turner, Attorney Love Law Firm, Margarett Love, Attorney McLoud, Daniel McClure, Mayor

## II. CONSENT AGENDA

1. Consideration and action to accept and approve items on the Consent Agenda.

President Polk asked for any questions. After there being no discussion K. Parker motioned to approve as is with a second from C. Freeman.

Yes Votes: M. Hart, D. Elam, W. Joyce, J. Calvert, N. Lloyd, S. Booker, M. Brown, K. Parker, K. Burkhardt, C. Parham, D. Wimpee, C. Freeman, J. Cochran, B. Moore, K. Peterson, S. White, P. Polk.

No Votes: None

All voted yes. Motion Carried.

#### III. BUSINESS AGENDA

1. **PRESIDENT'S REPORT** (Pam Polk, OML President)

President Polk shared with the board of her move to Durant since accepting the position of City Manager that will be effective April 5, 2024.

No formal action taken.

2. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT (Mike Fina, Executive Director) Director Fina shared a discussion with Mayor Holt and Nan Whaley of NLC. The Mayors' Council of Oklahoma is a great model for any group to follow. OML has three new employees, who are Emily Hooge, Branden Linton, and Claire Charles. The Congress of Mayors begins tomorrow and are we looking forward to our legislative voice being heard at the Oklahoma State Capital.

No formal action taken.

 LEGISLATIVE REPORT (Leslie Blair, Director of Communications & Legislative Affairs)

L. Blair presented the legislative report. L. Blair informed the board if they would like a meeting with their caucus, she is happy to make a request on their behalf. A motion was made by C. Parham with a second by D. Wimpee to approve the following recommendation.

A. *INFORMATION:* Support HB 3885 which increases the time limitation from one hundred twenty (120) days to one year for notification requirements by the court clerks.

ACTION REQUEST: OML Board of Directors approve the recommendation.

**Yes Votes:** M. Hart, D. Elam, W. Joyce, J. Calvert, N. Lloyd, S. Booker, M. Brown, K. Parker, K. Burkhardt, C. Parham, D. Wimpee, C. Freeman, J. Cochran, B. Moore, K. Peterson, S. White, P. Polk.

No Votes: None

All voted yes. Motion Carried.

4. Discussion and possible action to approve the recommendation of the President for the District 4 board seat being Danny Delay, City Manager of Atoka. A motion to approve was given by J. Cochran with a second by C. Freeman.

**Yes Votes:** M. Hart, D. Elam, W. Joyce, J. Calvert, N. Lloyd, S. Booker, M. Brown, K. Parker, K. Burkhardt, C. Parham, D. Wimpee, C. Freeman, J. Cochran, B. Moore, K. Peterson, S. White, P. Polk.

No Votes: None

All voted yes. Motion Carried.

# IV. EXECUTIVE SESSION (if requested):

Executive session began at 12:13 p.m.

A motion was made by K. Parker and seconded by J. Calvert to return from executive session.

Yes Votes: M. Hart, D. Elam, L. Savage, W. Joyce, J. Calvert, S. Booker, M. Brown, K. Parker, K. Burkhardt, C. Parham, D. Wimpee, C. Freeman, J. Cochran, B. Moore, K. Peterson, S. White, P. Polk.

No Votes: None

All voted yes. Motion Carried.

### V. NEW BUSINESS

A motion was made by S. Booker and seconded by K. Burkhardt to form a personnel committee with the following individuals to serve on the committee.

- 1. Will Joyce, Stillwater, Chair
- 2. Craig Freeman, Oklahoma City
- 3. Barry Moore, Edmond

Yes Votes: M. Hart, D. Elam, L. Savage, W. Joyce, J. Calvert, S. Booker, M. Brown, K. Parker, K. Burkhardt, C. Parham, D. Wimpee, C. Freeman, J. Cochran, B. Moore, K. Peterson, S. White, P. Polk.

No Votes: None

All voted yes. Motion Carried.

A motion was made by J. Cochran and seconded by C. Freeman to appoint a bylaws and policies committee with the following individuals to serve on the committee.

- 1. Michael Spurgeon, Broken Arrow, Chair
- 2. Joyce Calvert, Glenpool
- 3. Kelly Parker, Alva
- 4. Karl Burkhardt, Stonewall
- 5. Dwayne Elam, Wagoner

**Yes Votes:** M. Hart, D. Elam, L. Savage, W. Joyce, J. Calvert, S. Booker, M. Brown, K. Parker, K. Burkhardt, C. Parham, D. Wimpee, C. Freeman, J. Cochran, B. Moore, K. Peterson, S. White, P. Polk.

No Votes: None

All voted yes. Motion Carried.

# VI. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, President Polk adjourned the meeting at 5:45 p.m.